The Symposium in Research in Child Language Disorders is grateful to have committee members who volunteer their time to support the annual meetings.

The faculty directors manage the event, build the content, and organize the annual meeting. The steering committee provides input on the format of the conference, plenary speakers, and helps to generate innovative ideas for the scientific content of the conference. The national advisory board includes members of the scientific community with expertise in child language disorders. They provide guidance on high level issues related to the scientific content of the conference, as well as how to best support the next generation of scholars. The program committee includes graduate students and postdoctoral fellows with a shared interest in child language disorders. The program committee is instrumental in making sure the conference runs smoothly. They manage proposal reviews and provide assistance throughout the conference.

Conference Directors

Margarita Kaushanskaya, Ph.D.
Rita Kaushanskaya, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Communication Sciences and Disorders
Audra Sterling, Ph.D.
Audra Sterling, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Communication Sciences and Disorders

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Steering Committee

Susan Ellis Weismer, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Waisman Center

Sigan Hartley, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Human Development and Family Studies

Katie Hustad, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Jenny Saffran, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Psychology

Brittany Travers, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Occupational Therapy

Haley Vlach, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Educational Psychology

National Advisory Board

Aquiles Iglesias, Ph.D.
University of Delaware

Laurence B. Leonard, Ph.D.
Purdue University

Monique Mills, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Houston

Rhea Paul, Ph.D.
Sacred Heart University

Elizabeth Peña, Ph.D.
University of California at Irvine

Mabel L. Rice, Ph.D.
University of Kansas

Richard G. Schwartz, Ph.D.
City University of New York

J. Bruce Tomblin, Ph.D.
University of Iowa

Anne van Kleeck, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Dallas

Julie Washington, Ph.D.
University of California -Irvine

Student Program Committee

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Kathryn Prescott – Chair
Emily Bagan
Emily Hansen
Emma Libersky
Janine Mathée-Scott
Latifatu Mohammed
Claudia Schabes
Caitlyn Slawny
Chenelle Walker


Ellie Breitfeld
Haley Weaver

Waisman Center T32 Post-Doc

Tiffany Chavers-Edgar
Marianne Elmquist
Helen Long
Heather Salvo


Karen Andriacchi M.S., CCC-SLP
Conference Coordinator

Michael Block
Website Administration

Tony Andriacchi
Website Administration

SRCLD LogoSupported in part by: NIDCD and NICHD, NIH, R13 DC001677, Margarita Kaushanskaya and Audra Sterling, Principal Investigators

University of Wisconsin-Madison – Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders