Patrons enjoy physically distanced, reserved-table seating with food and drink service at the Memorial Union Terrace at the University of Wisconsin-Madison during a summer sunset on July 10, 2020. Table reservations can be made one to two days in advance via OpenTable. Masks and face coverings are required upon entry, while receiving service and while exiting. A majority of the campus, including the Memorial Union and Union South buildings, remain closed to the public due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) global pandemic. (Photo by Jeff Miller / UW-Madison)

Student Travel Awards

Student travel awards for the SRCLD conference are available for accepted student applicants participating in the Symposium on Research in Child Language Disorders (SRCLD). These awards are funded by NIH Conference Grant # R13 DC001677 for students from the US.

The student travel awards are reserved for students at the undergraduate, masters, doctoral and post-doctoral level who identify as female and/or are from racial and ethnic groups that have been shown by the National Science Foundation to be underrepresented in health-related sciences on a national basis.

The following racial and ethnic groups have been shown to be underrepresented in biomedical research: Black or African American, Hispanic or Latino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, and multiracial (i.e., 2 or more races) students and scientists. Priorities for funding to qualifying applicants are:

  • First author on an accepted paper or poster.
  • An author on an accepted paper or poster.
  • Submitted a research proposal for the program.
  • Student interested in attending, not presenting.

All applicants must have an advisor submit a one-sentence confirmation of student status and university/college affiliation. Instructions for the advisor to substantiate the above will be included in travel award application confirmation email sent to the applicant upon submission.

Submit Your Application

Applications Due By: February 15, 2024

Applications are closed for SRCLD 2024

Help Support a Student Award

Thank you to the NIH for providing financial support to these students. Additional support for student awards is made possible with donations to the Jon F. Miller Fund for SRCLD. Funds are used for student travel awards and to defray conference costs.

Thank you for your generosity!

Donate Online

Student Travel Award Recipients

Franchesca Arecy – University at Buffalo
Shalini Banerjee – Indiana, University Bloomington
Ansley Davis – University of South Florida
Janelle Flores – University of Houston
Nancy Garcia – University of Massachusetts Amherst
Samantha Ghali – University of Kansas
Mariana Gomez – University of California Irvine
Kylie Helm – University of Kansas
Michelle Hernandez – University of Houston
Ada López González – University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Tahmineh Maleki – Louisiana State University

Syrina Merilan – Georgia State University
Siddhi Patel – University of Texas at Dallas
Juliana Ronderos – Boston University
Karina Saechao – University of Kansas
Huanhuan Shi – New York University
Mariana Silva – Arizona State University
Shreyas Teegala – Vanderbilt University
Violet Tirado – California State University, Los Angeles
Adriana Valtierra – Vanderbilt University
Jiali Wang – University of California, Irvine
Julia Tomasulo – Northern Arizona University

Past Student Travel Award Recipients

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.


Franchesca Arecy – University at Buffalo
Jonet Artis – New York University
Simone Bellot – Syracuse University
Ana Delgado – Vanderbilt University
Michelle Erskine – Purdue University
Alicia Escobedo – SDSU/UC San Diego
Janelle Flores – University of Houston
Alejandro Granados Vargas – UC-Irvine
Jasenia Hartman – Duke University
Michelle Hernandez – University of Houston
Javier Jasso – University of Houston
HaeJi Lee – University of Minnesota
Ada Lopez Gonzalez – Univ. of Massachusetts, Amherst
Syrina Merilan – Georgia State University
Pedro Antonio Ortiz Ramirez – The Ohio State University
Cecilia Perez – University of California, Irvine
Juliana Ronderos – Boston University
Vishakha Shukla – New York University
Eugene Wong – University of Minnesota
Karen Zyskind – University of Oregon


Amélie Albert – Laurentian University
Jacquilyn Arias – University of Houston
Jonet Artis – New York University
Rebekah Bosley – University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Yao Chen – University of Texas at Austin
Elizabeth Choi – University of Southern California
Jessie Erikson – University of Arizona
Alicia Escobedo – SDSU
Molly Gasior – Missouri State University
Teresa Girolamo – San Diego State University
Michelle Hernandez – University of Houston
Sneh Jhaveri
Abigail John – San Diego State University
Kathryn Kreidler – University of Texas at Dallas
Joseph Hin Yan Lam – University of California, Irvine
Camryn Lowe – University of Kansas
Tahmineh Maleki – Louisiana State University
Jessica Mattingly – Texas Christian University
Sarah Lynn Neiling – University of Arizona
Amy Peterson – University of Wyoming
Tracy Preza – University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Juliana Ronderos – Boston University
Alexandria Sanchez – University of New Mexico
Nicola Santangelo – University of Kansas
McKenzie Scoppa – University of Texas at Dallas
Vishakha Shukla – New York University
Carla Stanford – University of California Irvine
Courtney Trevino – Texas Christian University


Jessie Erikson – University of Arizona
Jena McDaniel – University of Kansas
Jessica Chan – University of South Carolina
Pumpki L. Su – University of Texas-Dallas
Danyang Wang – University of California-Irvine
Emily Fisher – University of South Carolina-Columbia
Jacie Meldrum – University of Utah
Sarah Reviel – Louisiana State University
Alicia Escobedo – San Diego State University
Lily Black – University of Kansas
Kelly Berry – University of Kansas
Carolyn Burchfield – University of Kansas
Olufemi Shakuur Nyabingi – Northwestern University
Hannah Malamud – Vanderbilt University
Huanhuan Shi – New York University
Sarah Lynn Neiling – University of Arizona
Grace Clark – New York University
Heidi Mettler – University of Arizona
Kathryn Rollins – University of Western Ontario
Elizabeth Roepke – Purdue University
Anna Ehrhorn – University of South Carolina
Siena Schoelen – University of Arizona
Charlotte Jeppsen – University of Iowa
Riley McKibbon – University of Colorado-Boulder
Amy Wilder – University of Utah
Juliana Prieto Bruckner – Federal University of Minas Gerais
Caitlin Coughler – Western University
Nyla Conaway – Smith College
Vivian Almaraz – Smith College
Shabathyah Charles – Smith College

SRCLD LogoSupported in part by: NIDCD and NICHD, NIH, R13 DC001677, Margarita Kaushanskaya and Audra Sterling, Principal Investigators

University of Wisconsin-Madison – Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders